Most schools are planning to replace sport and exercise classes with more academic sessions. How will this change affects children’s lives in your view?

Due to technological advancement, many new subjects are being introduced in to the school curriculum every year. In order to cope with this, the schools attempt to organize their timetables with more emphasis on academic work while reducing the time of sports activities. However, being aware of the adverse impacts in children’s present and future lives by dropping sports from school curriculum, I do not agree with this concept.

To begin with, sports and exercises play crucial role in physical development of a student. Children who participate in sports develop stronger muscles and bones and less likely to suffer from physical injuries. Moreover, several studies have shown that childhood obesity is a growing problem in our society. Playing sports keep children active and aid in combating this problem. Having controlled weight leads to happier children and decreases the risk of ailments that comes along with being overweight, such as heat diseases and diabetes.

Additionally, sports also teach some important life skills, such as teamwork, leadership and confidence, which really help to enhance other aspects of their life. For instance, playing in a team and taking responsibility of their role promote the team spirit and leadership skills in the players, that really help a person at their workplace where he or she is expected to work in teams. Apart from this, maintaining composure in the face of disappointment is a life skill, well worth mastering, as an ability to recover quickly after setbacks. For instance, to be calm and composed under pressure of job interview is an enormous advantage.

To conclude, looking at the imperative benefits associated with sports activities, it would be a wrong decision to replace them with academic classes.