We are living in an era that education has a significant importance. Therefore, the methods of teaching and the subjects in the curriculum have been subjected to debates. Due to the technological advancements in recent years, many people believe the teaching of older courses such as music should be abandoned and replaced by modern subjects like computer and science. I strenuously disagree with the said view.

There is no doubt that science and computer are important. Firstly, in this modern world, where technology dominates over people’s lives, computer literacy has gained an unprecedented prominence. Hence, it is almost vital that these courses are in the educational curriculum. Secondly, the world is moving forward in industrialization with a fast pace, and therefore, having practical scientific and computer knowledge helps students to be more successful in their future careers.

However, the value of classical courses, namely music, should not be disregarded. First and foremost, in this ever-changing era, culture and arts should be preserved. It should not be forgotten that there is a softer side to the intellectuals we call humans. Moreover, by removing music from schools’ educational schedule, the talent of many students will be never discovered- the talent that may direct children to a lead a prosperous life. Last but not least, the music industry is a multibillion-dollar industry, thus, teaching music in schools can be considered as well a practical course that prepares students for an alternative career.

To conclude, based on the aforementioned explanations, while acquiring computer and science knowledge are crucial, I disagree with the statement that other subjects such as music should be removed from schools. As both the former and the latter are equally important, both should be taught in educational institutes.