Music should not be taught in schools instead other subjects, such as computer and science, should be taught. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The weightage that is given to different subjects in school curriculum is a tricky business. Many people argue to allot more time for science and technology rather than wasting it on music. In my opinion, although science requires a great amount of time to learn, it is completely not acceptable to overlook music, especially in early learning days of child’s life.

To begin with, music plays a huge role in everybody’s life. The clear evidence is its popularity in human culture right from the early civilization till today where generations have always cherished a good music. Besides, it is a unique medium to express feelings and emotions, which cannot be summarize in human invented languages. Moreover, the interest in music, who knows, can turn in to a successful career in the long run. Additionally, music is quite essential for all-round development because it assists in concentrating and improves focus while pursuing other skills. For instance, based on human brain studies, brain works more efficiently in the presence of music which can trigger certain neurons which are responsible to focus. Thus, music should be embraced in all the other aspect of life not just school syllabus.

However, computer and technology are considered more vital as it offers better employment opportunities. Learning science is a complex task and it demands a huge commitment as well as effort to understand its complex concepts. Since it has better job security, people, especially parents who pamper their children, prefer their child to emphasize more on these subjects instead of wasting time on music. In other words, it is simply an easy way out because the probability of lending a career in music is considerably less. So, science and technologies are preferred more over Music.

In conclusion, rather than looking only by employment perspective, the importance should be given to complete personality development for the juvenile. Hence, under no circumstances, music can be overlooked but instead a balance should be struck among all the subjects.