News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.

Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about it?

Attaching images to stories has become a very popular method in the mass media recently. It should be admitted that narrating an event by providing some related photos can have profound impacts on audience. This essay agrees with the above statement and will examine this idea from different perspectives.

First and foremost, visualizing a piece of information would be an efficient way of conveying a clear message to the people through watching or reading. It goes without saying that most of the people who are being told about a specific news experience missing parts in their brains and would not be able to follow the whole thing. For example, a couple of weeks ago, regarding to the recent terrorist attack in New Zealand, I saw a picture on the news and before reading the complete story, I could imagine what a terrible disaster has happened.

From a different view, when an individual watches or reads about a happening and some real pictures are accommodated, that moment could stay in that person’s mind for a very long time. There is no deny that our visual memory usually works much better than the other parts of the brain. The reason is that the action of transferring data could be completed in a second. As a result, sometimes we do not have any intention to know about something but by seeing a photo that piece of knowledge comes to our mind and remains in our memory forever. To exemplify, my mother was reading some child’s stories from a book having a lot of pictures when I was four. As a consequence, I remember all of them and am able to narrate them to my wife in details.

In conclusion, based on the above-mentioned points and details, informing the people about a specific news or story with a couple of images would be a beneficial way of sending the message effectively and make them possible to remember the information for many years.