Nowadays, celebrities earn more money than politicians.. what are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative development.

These days, luminaries are making more money than ever before and this may be attributed to the development of the entertainment industry. In my opinion, i consider this a positive development because super stars work very hard to keep up with their talent and politics should be a passion instead of an avenue to gather gains.

The reason why i believe that stars should make more cash than public servants is because they work very hard to keep up with their talent. Most of these public personality start from the bottom, attending auditions and career coaching until they eventually succeed and even after succeeding, they still have to meet up with the demands of their audience to ensure they remain in the spotlight. Also, some superstars carry out philanthropic activities to around the world to increase human well-being. For instance, Bill and Melissa gates foundation raises up to four hundred dollars annually to support polio eradication.

Another reason why famous people should earn more income than legislators is that politics should be a passion and as such huge income should not be alotted to public servants so that they can perform better. If they are paid huge income, then the masses will be misrepresented because most people vying for public position would be doing that based on personal interest. For example, according to a survey carried out by ECOWAS, 78% of people contesting for public offices are doing it based on individual gains.

In conclusion, although many people believe that those in authority should get more wages than celebrities, i still think that politics should be passion driven rather than an avenue to accumulate funds.