Nowadays children prefer electronic games to other games and toys? Why is it happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Due to the influence on children by watching TV and spending time on the Internet, electronic games have increased in popularity when compared to games and toys which require physical activity. I believe that this is a negative development as it can have many adverse effects on the younger generation.

Undoubtedly, there are some benefits of electronic games such as easy availability and lower cost. The nature of these games is that they are digital which gives them an upper hand when compared to physical traditional games or toys. Most importantly, the major benefit is that a single smartphone or smart TV can hold hundreds of games in digital format and most of them could be free. For instance, a smart TV sold by Samsung comes pre-loaded with fifty free games for kids. However, if kids would want to have the same amount of traditional games and toys, it would cost a fortune and require a huge amount of physical space.

Nevertheless, playing with other games and toys benefits in the physical development of children. Children by nature are joyful and like to be active by doing numerous things and it enables them to learn about the physical aspects of different items. It is also in the nature of kids to get bored easily, so they try to play different games which aid in their physical and mental development. In the case of electronic games, they tend to be attractive in nature and thus kids spend a lot of time playing on it but the harmful rays from the TV screen or smartphone are dangerous and result in damage to the eyes.

Furthermore, studies have shown that playing with traditional games and toys increases social skills and encourages positive behavior in kids. Children are required to interact with others and make friends which helps them in their future life. Toys and traditional games can be played in groups which results in the development and enhancement of social skills. The result of playing games either is winning or losing it, in both cases, kids learn to behave in an appropriate manner. On the other hand, lots of studies have been done on the impact of electronic devices on children and it was found that the waves emitted from these devices tamper the development of brain and kids usually confine to themselves and lose interest in interacting with other children.

In conclusion, we cannot avoid the influence of digitalization on children but efforts should be taken to minimize screen time and encourage games which require physical activities and social interaction.