Many Children are encouraged by their parents to get a part time job in their free time. What are the advantages and disadvantages to children of doing so?

Gaining life experience by working during teenage is popular among many nations and parents not only motivate but helps children to work either volunteer or paid job. There are various benefits and drawbacks of it that are discussed in detail.

One of the main advantage of working as child is that one will get ample of work experience that not only make child independent but also help them choosing the carrier path. For instance, one of my cousin started working in a computer shop in teenage, after school hours, where he not only learns about assembling the full computer system but also learn troubleshooting. When he enrolled in college for degree, he already chosen which course to take without any advice from elders. Because of the skills he gained during his part time work, his college offer him part time job. Therefore, working from an early age will not only independent the child but also he can choose his future.

Although working from teenage has merits, there are demerits also and one of the main is the development of bad habits that they can attain from bad influence from work. For example, they can become addicted to alcohol and drugs. It is found in a study that teenager’s starts smoking as fun but eventually it become part of their daily routine. Usage of drugs and alcohol for them are regular in parties. Even though laws are present to tackle these issues but they can get hold of these things through people who can legally purchase it.

To conclude, starting job as children helps personality and they attain various skills whereas, they can also develop bad habits because of bad influence at work. Therefore, parents should keep an eye on their children when sending to work. It can not only make their future but also destroy it.