Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Tourism is one of the largest and fastest growing industries of the world. Today the world is connected than any time and people from all over the countries can reach to their destination within a period of 24 hours. Tourism allows people to understand the culture, local history and habits of the other parts of the world, however, in the same time this phenomenon creates confusion, tension among the countries. At the first impulse, the given notion seems to be debatable and requires detailed deliberation that has been put forth in the looming paragraphs.

To commence with, Tourism plays a crucial role in the economic development of a country i.e. it contributes to the progress of the individuals, societies and government in many ways. In terms of individuals, it help them in creating a job opportunities and employs large number of people both skilled and unskilled. For the business people, it helps their hotels to grow and eventually promotes national integration and bring foreign exchange for the government. In addition to that, it helps the local industry to expand which predominantly deals with handicrafts and hand-made goods that provides tourist insights about the local culture and history.

On the flip side, some people think that Tourism creates tension rather than understanding people and culture of the particular country. In this regard, some tourists are not aware of the local culture, history and traditions of the particular country and they try to understand the same in their own way that is not acceptable to local community. The said indifferences results into tensions and conflicts between two communities. For instance, foreign people visits the holy places and start taking pictures or videos and not covering the head. The local community believe that foreign tourists are not respectful to the God and made fun of the holy place. Further, foreign language sometimes creates a barrier and leads to misunderstanding.

To recapitulate, Tourism industry is an integral part of the economic growth of a country and infuse foreign exchange in the economy, however, the same needs to be taken care off to avoid any confusion and dis-respect local people sentiments and traditions of the particular countries. In my view, Tourism is an asset for any country and government and local people needs to understand the importance of tourism industry so that it can harmony and integration among the people.