Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is a universal fact that the world we are living is a world of dreams and it is apt to say that if any of our ancestors were to revisit this planet, they will be surprised and shocked that this is the same planet, which they have dwelled. Thanks to the advancement in the field of life bestowed by science and technology. However, there is another face of the coin which cannot be overlooked. The said advancement has imperiled the existence of the blue planet and put the natural resources in danger. In the same stride, the given proposal seems to be debatable and involves two school of thoughts i.e. in some countries, these fossil fuels seems to be main sources of energy whereas some countries are focusing on the natural resources to generate energy. As far as my opinion is concerned, it is an ordeal task and requires detailed deliberation to rule out any possibility of wrong verdict.

To commence with, using Fossil fuel as a parameter for generation of energy is always a risky proposition as it results several environmental problems. When these fossil fuels is burnt, it releases huge amount of carbon dioxide that eventually impacts the environment and contributes to global warming. The said global warming significantly lead to climate change and results into floods or draughts. In addition to this, these fossil fuels creates a nuisance to the environment and supports air pollution, which makes human life miserable in terms of breathing and leads to various health problems such as asthma or respiratory issues. Further, these resources are limited and requires millions of year to produce. We are consuming these resources at a very rapid speed and will gone forever.

On the other side, some countries are pushing very hard to use these alternate sources of energy. The reason being these form of sources are environmental friendly and does not releases toxic gases when burnt. This helps in generation of electricity without damaging to the environment. Further, it is very economical to generate green energy from these sources and which helps the economy to grow as a whole. Moreover, these natural energy sources can replace themselves, making them sustainable and abundant natural resources. However, it is pertinent to note that there is a huge capital investment required to build dams or other solar panels but it is one time cost but its benefits are everlasting.

To conclude, it appears that the use of natural resources will help the country to grow at rapid speed and will safeguard the environment. The government should educate public by informing the benefits and promoting the usage of such resources. In my opinion, this development will definitely have a positive impact.