Nowadays many children are playing computer games instead of doing sports activities. Why is it happening? Is it a negative or positive development?

In recent years, online games have gained higher popularity amongst numerous children in contrast to outdoor games. The lack of parental supervision and mobility of online games seem to be the prime reasons for this transition, and in my opinion, this advancement has untoward repercussions for several reasons.

To begin with, one of the main causes of this trend is the unattended life of modern adolescences. To be more precise, undoubtedly, the parents, these days, are often leading a hectic life-style as they are highly occupied earning money to have a decent place in society. As a consequence, they mostly end-up leaving their offsprings either at the child-care centre or with the housemaids. Furthermore, it can not be denied that online games are quite intensive and portable. Therefore, instead of going outdoor, children prefer to play on their computers or mobile phones. Not to mention, it has become viable to connect with your friends on the cyber-space and play internet games as a team, which often keeps these children glued to these devices. A recently emerged internet game PUBG is an appropriate example of such online tournaments.

I am of the opinion that this inclination has many detrimental impacts on the contemporaries. Firstly, this often deprives them of being active, which results in obesity. As mentioned earlier, as these computer games are generally fascinating to the young generation, they tend to spend numerous hours in front of the computer. This way of living is not only harmful to their health but also has an adverse impact on their study routine. For example, unlike outdoor sport, personal computer games make an individual lethargic and couch potatoes for that matter.

In conclusion, i believe that the tendency amongst the modern generation to play computer games more often is a negative change because it promotes an inactive way of living and causes a myriad of health problems to them.