Nowadays many people cannot read or write What problems does this cause What measures can governments take to solve these problems

Althoug illiteracy sounds like something linked to a far past, many people still these days are illiterate. Not being able to read and write has a detrimental impact on everyday life, condemning those people to a life made of isolation, poverty and misery. The roots of this problem - which is more devastating in developed countries - grow in terrains poisoned with crime, violence lack of opportunities and absence of social infrastructures. Mostly affected by this plague are children coming from disadvantaged families: sometimes the parents are unemployed or come themselves from a backround of poverty; in some cases, parents are not there at all and children have to look for themselves without having the opportunity to attend school. Rare but not uncommon is the case of adults who are not able to read and write also in their mature age. In a society where being literate is considered a basic requirment to have any sort of job, this situation can be an obstacle too huge overcome.

Governments should tackle this problem by essentially spending more money on the educational system and tryning to make it more efficient and closest to the community as much as they can. Resources should be invested in afert school programs which can allow people withoout education to improve themeseves or to help immigrants learn the language of the country they are currently living. Hiring the best teachers and rewarding them according to their perfomances should also taken into account in order to enhance the overall quality of the education system.

To sum up, if it true that actions should be taken by governments by subsidizing the educational system, steps should also taken by individuals themselves who have to face a problem that can have negative consequences on their life.