Nowadays many people choose readymade food and refuse to cook at home. Why do you think it happens? What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a choice?

With busy routine, people today are finding very little time to cook healthy food, often ignoring their health and opting for ready-to-eat items, to save some cooking time. This essay will discuss the reasons for this change in eating habits and evaluate both the advantages and disadvantages.

To begin with, people today are living a busy life with both genders of the house working to fulfill the personal and professional needs. This constant chase leaves very little time for individuals to look after their kitchen and dietary needs. However, this new age problem has found a solution in readymade food items that have flooded the market in recent years. Available in all flavors and packaging, these items offer to save time and satisfy the taste buds. They have successfully established themselves as an alternative to traditional dishes and help saves long cooking hours, saving time for self-rejuvenation.

However, these ready to eat items have a negative impact on health and increasing health problems are testimony to this. Loaded with preservatives and added colors, eating these foods on regular basis has proved detrimental to health. Moreover, the packaged food is low on proteins and vitamins, and have more than required quantity of carbohydrates and unhealthy fats. In addition to these, several studies have successfully established their role in increased cases of cancers and several other life-threatening diseases. One such instance, is the complete ban on the sales of Maggie noodles in India, after a lab experiment found lead in the noodles. The Maggie, it was found, though famous among young and old, was badly affecting their immune system and was acting like a slow poison.

To conclude, I would suggest that people should pay more attention to their health and curb their reliance on readymade items. The adage ‘Health is wealth’ should act as a motivation here, to invest more time on dishes that build health and cut on preservatives and artificial flavors.