Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. what are the reason for this. Is this a positive or negative development?

Urbanization has impacted the lifestyle and behaviour of the people immensely since last two decades. It has been observed by many adepts that people has adopted shopping as their hobby over many other activities. Here, I would like to narrate some of the possible reasons behind this development of new habit.

To commence with, Urbanization and technology has given rise in the free time of the person. For instance, use of electronics has reduced the time of working at home and workplace both which has given rise to the shopping habit of people.Moreover,many advertisement strategies infatuated people towards shopping unwanted things. To exemplify, advertisement of specific product on occasion of different festival has led people to shop during free time of festival rather spending time in celebration with relatives and friends. More to add it, flaunt of expensive products has become a status quo of certain category of people like youngsters and affluent. So, to satisfy,the status quo among the own group, people often spend time behind shopping.

Finally, there are many individual circumstances arises in human life which can develop psychological disorders in the person. These types of psychological disorders also give push to the unnecessary shopping habit in the person. For instance, Low self esteem, inferiority complex, loneliness etc. are the reason behind to do activities like shopping which can help to spend time alone in their own company. Shopping will help to get disconnect with the outer world and keep their mind in going more negative. Many psychologist also suggest shopping as a therapy of treatment for disorders caused by the loneliness and stress.

On the flip side, If shopping has been done in planned manned, it can help many socio- economy developments. Firstly, shopping can give consistent rotation of money in the market which is very important for the growth of economy of any country. Secondly, Purchase of necessary things will not help only to manage money for the future crisis but also help to avoid congestion of non-required things in the home. Finally, shopping in wise manner can help you to remain contend, confident and up to the date in terms of changing trends.

All in all, The activity which can enhance your mood and support your personality in certain way , can be developed as a hobby. However, it is well said by someone that anything in excess will always be harmful so the blind shopping is.