Nowadays, many people have to work longer hours, and they feel more stressed out than before. What are the reasons for stress at the workplace? What can employers do to make their employees’ life easier?

These days people are feeling more stressed due to long working hours. Main reason of such stress is tough competition in global markets and excess availability of labour forces.

During the past two decade many countries had signed so many bi-lateral agreements for the free trade between the countries which enable to sale the goods/services of one country into another country. Due to such agreements, labour intensive countries like India and china had explored the global market for selling the goods and services. Opening the opportunities to target the global market demands, also have its own cut-throat competition in respect of cost and timely delivery. To meet expectations and demands, people started working for longer hours.

Another reason for longer working hours is competition in employment market. Countries which have huge number of labour forces will automatically create the insecurity in employees mind. Employees feel that if they will not work for additional hours to meet the target, employer may replace him with another person who is intended to work for additional hours.

Working for more the office hours lead to hectic routine for employees. Due to this, employees can not spend time with their family or involve in activities of their interest which ultimately leads to stress.

To avoid such situation companies should implement clear policy of maximum normal and additional working hours per week. Companies should also ensure that any additional work hours are duly approved by appropriate authority. In additional to this, there should be compulsion for the employees to avail their earned leave on time so that they can spent time with family or participate in activity which help them to release their stress. Time to time, companies can also arrange some recreational activities like games, yoga, office outing etc. which really help employees to interact each other and which really help to feel enthusiastic and motivated towards work.