Many students take part-time jobs while studying in universities. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Student these days are doing part-time job while studying in university. Universities fees had increased significantly that mid-class person can’t afford the study in top B-school without working part time.

For the payment of university fees, parents take loan for their children. Once someone had taken the loan, it last with EMI for 5 to 8 years and if you are not working while studying, such loan will start accumulating. Payment of such huge amount after completion of study create pressure to excel in career and does not provide time to groom and to avoid such financial burden, student starts part-time job. Earning from part-time job helps student to pay the universities fees and living expense.

Doing part-time job had another advantage also, like building up overall personality of the student with practical experience of the market. Suppose someone is in marketing field, during the job, he interacts with people on daily basis and such interaction help him to understand the market batter and build the negotiation skills which can not be learnt in universities. Apart from learning the soft skills like communication, negotiations, understanding of industry etc, he has the practical relevant experience which he can show while applying for job after completion of universities. Such practical experience will provide him edge over other candidate.

If students are working while they are in collage, it reduces the time of study and may miss the class or assignment etc or loose focus on studies. But what I believe, it provides the best opportunities to student to manage their time. It is best time to learn the time management and utilise the time in best possible way.

Lastly, I would like to conclude that there are few disadvantages (from which also, student learn management skills) but advantages are more to motivate to do part-time job.