Nowadays many students choose to study abroad at university level. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad and give your opinion about whether it is a good idea.

Nowadays several students prefer to study at university in a foreign country. Although there are a few drawbacks while studying abroad, I believe that this is a positive choice along with many benefits.

There are some difficulties overseas students may encounter. This is to say, international universities can be extremely expensive, starting from the application to the tuition fees. For example, most of the time if you go as an international student to study abroad, prices can be three times higher than for a national student. As a matter of fact, you should make sure to do a proper research, not only about the international institution, but also about personal monthly expenses such as, rent, transportation, groceries and leisure, so that before moving abroad you have the chance save enough money to complete your studies, and support yourself without struggling. Another disadvantage might be cultural shock, moving abroad without any family member can be tough. In addition, you should be mentally prepared and make sure you are strong enough to overcome all the challenges along the way. For instance, might be difficult to make new friends, find your favorite food, or even things you like to do in a foreign country, this situation can turn into homesickness, making you feel you want to go back to your home country.

On the other hand, studying abroad can be the most memorable experience in your life. For this reason, you can develop yourself in different ways. For example, going through hardships sometimes can make you a better person, bringing new perspectives and experiences to your life, challenges can also teach you how to be independent and deal with your emotions in a better way. For instance, while studying in a prestigious institution you can meet people from all over the world, improve your second language, expand your knowledge, learn about a new culture, and make lifelong friends. Furthermore, graduating from an international recognized university can lead you to better job opportunities, network and higher salary.

In conclusion, I believe that studying overseas has more advantages than disadvantages. As a result, this experience can bring several positive changes into your life together with greater employment opportunities and personal development.