Nowadays media should include more good news in their publications. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Media is a powerful tool when it comes to carrying relevant information regarding the news, current events and happenings in the world today, whether it be good or bad. Now some suggest that media should be leaning towards a more optimistic approach of broadcasting of their news, however, it might also be more of a downside rather than helpful. In this essay, I will discuss and give examples why I believe a realistic, though bad news could not be compensated by a good news but with a lesser truth.

First of all, it is indeed a joy to hear good news every time. As the recipient of the news, it would certainly make my day better to receive a good headlines first thing in the morning. However, it could result to frustrations later on if I found out that those good news were just fabricated stories after all. For instance, it might be better if the media will publish a news about the current crisis happening in a country, rather than sugar-coating to make it more acceptable to the people. This is so that people, even though it might make them feel discouraged, they will be aware of the crisis thus will make themselves prepared for it.

What is shocking to know is that, nowadays I think that some broadcasting companies are doing some kind of news distortion to make it more appealing to the public. Hence, we were forced to believe a falsified information, as we were deprived of the knowledge of what is really going on. In our country for example, a broadcasting station might report the only the good side of the news without mentioning the other side, while another station might report only the bad side of the story and will not report the other side. This makes the people more confused, as they thought the media is becoming biased in what they report, thus might lead them to just believe what they want to believe.

To conclude, media contains all the information with regards to current happenings and events that are occurring on a daily basis, and I think that it is better to report the truth despite being bad rather than accepting what is good but falsified.