Nowadays, the Olympic Games play less important roles in the world in 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an assertion that the Olympic Games are not as paramount as centuries ago. I am not in the same wavelength with this view due to its significant influence on motiving the public to exercise regularly and facilitating international communication.

One of the conspicuous reason of the importance of the Olympic Games is it invigorates the public to engage in sports. By watching cornucopia of competitions in the Olympic Games, people may develop their interests in certain sports and want to have a try by themselves. For example, Chinese people are fascinated about table tennis, because Chinese players always win in the Olympic Games and thus people of all walks tend to play this sport as a hobby. If the Olympic Games are abandoned, residents from all the countries may be less encouraged to do sports and tend to live an inactive and sedentary lifestyle.

It might be argued that nowadays people are bombarded with a wide array of exercising and recreational options, thus the Olympic Games are no longer needed to raise the public’s attention toward sports. However, I am skeptical that this could be the reason of discarding the Olympic Games, since they are not mutually exclusive. In my opinion, despite the benefits to the general public, the Olympic Games serve as an important international event that gathers sports players all over the world and encourage them to communicate, exchange ideas and form friendship with each other. Every four year, it is the Olympic Games that make countries set aside disputes and conflicts and enjoy a feast of sports.

To recapitulate, the Olympic Games ought to be emphasized and appreciated now and in many decades to come, because they serve as a catalyst for the public fitness and international communication.