Nowadays people make new friends through social media networks and internet chat groups. Some think this is good. Others think that face-to-face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and your opinion.

In this fast pacing world of technology, building new relationship have turned out to be more virtual than the past. While some welcome this approach, others prefer direct communication. Both these views have its own advantages and disadvantages. However, in my opinion, when you want to have more credibility it is good to meet the person in real and when distance is a constraint and you are in a safe group, social networking is a better approach.

With the introduction of social networking platforms, social groups have increased a lot based on the area of interest. In the past you could find new relations if you were part of any socially active community groups. Later when yahoo chat rooms and social networking sites such as Orkut, Facebook etc. came into existence, all this could be achieved in the comfort of your living room or internet cafes. However, false identity was the biggest threat which drastically increased cybercrimes. I believe, social networking is a bliss if, we always ensure to follow the rules of a healthy cyber networking. To avoid trust issues, meeting people in the real world is always an option.

Some think that meeting people in person is more necessary. The reason behind this justification is that, there is more credibility than seeing a person behind an online avatar. For instance, even today, many companies prefer to go through a face-to-face interview even after going through their LinkedIn profile and telephonic interviews before making a final decision. This is to avoid the unnecessary cost of hiring an individual and paying the price of false identity.

To conclude, it has become more convenient to find new friends through virtual networking over the years. However, we should always consider the option of meeting people directly when credibility is a question. This will guarantee to expand our social circle in a healthy way.