Nowadays traffic congestion is a major problem. What are its causes and what effects can it have?

Nowadays traffic congestion is a leading concern especially in developing countries and expected to become the biggest challenge of 21st century. This essay will explain that how the inadequate transport infrastructure is the leading cause of this problem and will also elaborate the hazardous effects of traffic congestion on people general health and environment.

Firstly, lack of proper transport infrastructure is one important cause to traffic jams on the roads. Many developing countries lack the number of alternates route like freeways and poor road structure forces the situation of slow movement of traffic leading to congestion. To further explain my stance, The New York Times listed Mumbai as 1 of top traffic rich cities in the world due to lack of freeways and highways. Secondly, unsatisfactory public transport is also causing people to travel by their private transport that end up in too many cars on the road, adding to further traffic congestion. To explain this further, in Indonesia, local buses and trains are too crowded, though people were urged to drive their own vehicle for pleasant travel. Thus, poor road structure and inefficient public transport lead to excessive traffic load on the streets.

There are many negative effects of this problem. First of all, air pollution is the most dangerous effect of traffic congestion. Harmful chemical like CO2 can cause climate chance and contribute to global warming. Combustion for excessive number of vehicle fuels cause lead to many health hazards like lung infections. To exemplify, recent journal publication by WHO states that air pollutants are the leading cause of deteriorating lung capacity of young men and women nowadays.

Furthermore, road rage is another potential harm effect of traffic hold-up. Slow movement on roads provoke rage in behaviour of many drivers and they deliberately drive in a risky way. Unfortunately this rage leads to assaults, collisions , injuries and even deaths, and again this result in further traffic obstruction. Hence, air pollution and rage behaviour of drivers are two prominent side effects of increase traffic jam.

To sum up, poor infrastructure of public transport and roads leads to traffic jam and thus end up increasing the air pollution. Government need to take charge to improve the public transport and infrastructure to combat with its harmful effects on the environment and its people.