Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Population explosion has escalated the issue of waste management. Nowadays amount of waste produced is increasing exponentially. In this contemplation I will discuss various reasons responsible for the increased waste production and what steps the government should take for eliminating waste production.

Overpopulation is the prime cause of excessive rubbish production. Since more customers buy products from supermarkets mostly packed in plastic bags or containers so more waste is produced. Therefore, plastic packaging leads to the accumulation of non-biodegradable dispose in huge amounts. For instance, according to studies India has insufficient resources to manage the hospital waste.

Another cause is insufficient manpower for managing the waste. Municipal committees do not have enough personnel for handling the waste produced in huge cities. This results in accumulation of rubbish on road side, sewerages, and ponds.

Governments should adopt stringent policies for reducing the amount of waste produced. Laws should be made that would restrict the factories to limit the use of plastic for packaging the products. Another step that needs to be taken is to increase the manpower for managing the waste. Government should employee more employees for municipal corporations who are responsible for managing the city waste. Moreover, waste management training should be made mandatory for all government and private employees. For example, employees can be taught about disposing the trash in color coded dustbin and paper recycling. This will reduce the unsorted waste that has to be incinerated or buried.

In conclusion, I would reiterate the important part government intervention can plays for reducing the amount of trash produced. Reducing plastic packaging and training employees to reduce waste and recycling methods can help for reducing the trash production.