Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish Why do you think this is happening What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced

The waste human and industries generate has been detrimental to our environment for quite some time now. Most of the waste comes from manufacturing companies and plastic packaging which can’t be properly be recycled is filling our oceans and landfills. This essay will analyze the increase in waste production more deeper and suggest some measures to improve the current situation.

First of all, the increasing number of plastic packaging items from fast food centers and super markets are one of the main cause for plastic waste production. Companies use cheap variety of packaging materials such as plastic, polythene and rubber that can’t be recycled, so it’s not environmental friendly. A recent survey in New York Times has reported 6.3 billion metric tons of plastic waste has been produced in US, only 9% of that plastic waste are recycled. The waste produced in industrial companies are even more hazardous as they cannot decompose which includes soil and liquid chemical waste. For example, The National Environmental Agency has issued a warning that the Petroleum companies are second largest in producing the industrial toxic waste. Although the petroleum company’s production has increased by 15%, more than 8.5 billion tons of waste produced in a year, which is above the average scale. This is certainly a downfall for the environment and wildlife in the ecosystem we all share.

I think therefore, government need to raise this awareness to general public. It’s very important for every individual to stay vigilant and be responsible to maintain the environmental safety. The government should impose strict laws and taxes to force companies to use only bio-degradable materials for packaging purpose. Additionally, government should investigate the disposal process of industrial waste whether they are bounded to environment safety standards and regulations. These kinds of measures will persuade people and industries to use only recycle products which will eventually bring down the waste production.

To conclude, there are many reasons such as usage of plastic in packing materials and toxic industrial waste contribute the increase in waste production, however, the stringent measures and regulations from the government can definitely reduce and control the growing problem.