Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times there is an exponential increase in the amount of garbage that has been produced. The primary cause of this rise is mainly due to increase in the human population and the lack of awareness amongst people. The rubbish produced can have detrimental effects on the environment. In my opinion, Government is partly to be blamed for the increase in the waste that is created and they should be should be more vocal in educating the people. Also, they should impose bans on certain products, which are harmful.

Firstly, there has been an increase in the human population due to which more and more waste products are generated. It is impossible to control the human population. Hence, the only way to decrease the waste is by educating people. Government should promote and take initiative by creating social awareness programs, which will help people in understanding the harmful effects of waste on the environment. The government should educate the population that biodegradable waste should be separated from the non-biodegradable waste, which helps in easy disposal.

Secondly, the Government should impose strict laws on use of plastic usage. Plastic is non-biodegradable waste, which further results in accumulating of the garbage. The government should promote usage of eco-friendly products like jute bags, cardboards, and biodegradable plastic. Lastly, rewards should be given for people who help in recycling the waste. This way the amount of waste generated will be reduced.

In conclusion, to reduce the waste and preserve the nature, it will not only require help from the government but also equivalent efforts from the people will be needed. Slogan “Reduce, reuse and recycle should be implemented and memorized by all of us.