Nowadays weddings are becoming bigger and more expensive Why is it happening Is it a negative or a positive development

In present time, arranging for marriage ceremony have become an overbudget project. Which is eventually taking a negative toll on the overall scenario. There are varied reasons why extravagant weddings are not required and should be put to an end. This essay shall discuss negative aspects of grand weddings and how the problem can be tackled.

Currently the wedding situation in Pakistan is very serious. Each and every one is getting over board with all the wedding planning and decorations, not to mention pre wedding shenanigans which is an additional dent in the pocket. And the painful fact in the situation which also contributes to the negative impact is that out of 4 days of celebration; engagement, mehndi, barat and walima, 3 are being paid and arranged by bride’s side, which if one think rationally, is a mental and financial stress upon the parents. I will be giving a real-life example here, recently I attended my cousin’s daughter wedding. She is a sole earner for the family but the responsibility which she thinks she owes towards the society by throwing a mega event was outrageous. Having limited means of earning she managed to gave her daughter away along with dowery and gold. I can imagine she had to go beyond her means in order to fulfill her daughter’s dream day; which is completely wrong in my opinion.

This culture should be put to an end. In my opinion, budget should be divided equally among both the parties, it should not lie upon one. In addition, instead of having 4 grand events it should be cut down to just 1 or maximum 2. As I have come across the idea of combining mendi and barat function and calling it “shendi”. This idea can make some changes. Also, all the money spent on fancy places and exorbitant menu, should be given to bride and groom directly so that can make a future investment for themselves rather than spending it on useless preparations. Moreover, government can make strict rules regarding food served, they can limit the items so that there is no burden on either party. This initiative was taken be government 2 decades back and should be brought back again.

To sum it up, wedding expenditure should be cut down dramatically, the amount should be transferred to the couple’s bank account instead so that it can be put to a better use by them in future.