Nowdays, many people spend less and less time at home.

What are the causes of this? What are the effects of this on individuals and on society?

The time during which people are present at home is steadily declining in recent years. Undoubtedly, there have been dozens of factors are attributable to this change. The present essay will discuss artificial lighting and today’s competitive world as two specific causes of this situation. Finally, its repercussions for both individuals and society will be argued herein.

These days, urban areas are fully illuminated thereby keeping cities alive even overnight. That people are enabled to stay outdoors until late at night. Moreover, different parts of the world now are linked and this created a competitive atmosphere. To be successful in this competitive world, one is obliged to work harder. For example, in order for students to be admitted in reputable universities, they have to acquire more skills to enhance their Curriculum Vitaes. This requires to attend extra courses beyond conventional ones. People thus curtail the time they spend indoors to work harder.

Limiting the amount of time we spend at home has profound influences on human societies and individuals. The more we spend outside of the house, the less chance we have of communicating with family members, consequently families have not adequate time to cement their relationships. In fact, loss of close relationships inside a family has a detrimental effect on the wellbeing of society. Besides society, individuals have less opportunity to rest. Home is generally known as the best place for relaxation as well as sleep. Statistics demonstrate that people sleep currently about 2 hours fewer in comparison with the previous century. This means that most people are now suffering from sleep deprivation, therefore, they have not sufficient rest.

To conclude, it is imperative to keep a balance between a period of time when we are at home and we are not. As noted above, artificial lighting in the streets and the need of working harder keep people from coming back to home. This essay also argued lack of enough rest and functional family relationships as dire consequences of staying outside.