People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

The secret of sleep has yet to be discovered; however, scientists unanimously agree that sleep is vital for the survival of humankind. Despite the significance of sleep, the incidence of sleep hours is declining especially in urban areas. Illumination as a specific cause of sleep deprivation will be discussed herein and finally, the damaging physical effect of this deficiency will be dealt with.

Thanks to the invention of the light bulb, residential areas have become lighter and this artificial illumination can change one’s sleep habits. In fact, the hormone responsible for regulating human’s sleep can be secreted by a drop in intensity of light. With this in mind, this process would be interrupted by the presence of artificial light at night. Therefore, such lighting in both outside and inside of the home could keep us awake when our body needs rest.

Without adequate rest, our body will experience weakness in the following day. Given that, a minimum amount of sleep, varying according to biological factors, is required for the proper performance of different organs. For instance, research indicates that sleep deprivation could undermine the ability of concentration by 80%. Numerous negative influences such as lack of concentration, thus, are there resulting from insufficient sleep.

To conclude, it is imperative that we become well aware of the possible consequences of change in our lifestyles. One of these changes, undoubtedly, has been sleep quantity. As noted above, a primary cause of this sleep deprivation is illumination associated with industrialisation. As a result of this deficiency, our body will not be able to work appropriately.