The number of cars has increased significantly in major cities. What problems does this cause and what are some solutions to these problem?

The more modern life becomes, the more private vehicles people rely on. Owing to this, the increasing usage of cars seriously faces people in big cities numerous problems such as causing traffic congestion and pollution. Therefore, governments and everyone need to take action by implementing some possible solutions. This essay will analyze the challenges of cities being overburdened by cars and propose some effective measures.

The significant issue of the growing number of cars is traffic jams in metro cities. During the daytime, roads carry various means of transport, especially cars. Employees are difficult to commute to work during rush hours, which is time-consuming for one individual. Moreover, traffic congestion can lead to more car accidents because of the lack of road capacity. To tackle this problem, the government should put up a tax on using personal cars, which would reduce the high rates of car users. Additionally, authorities need to improve the quality of traffic facilities to avoid unexpected accidents. Besides, employees living near their offices can walk to their workplace on foot instead of driving.

Another issue of the growth of cars is pollution. The mass vehicles and commuters traveling every day cause not only noise pollution but air contamination as well. Citizens residing in the center of big cities suffer from the constant noise of vehicle engines and horns all year. Furthermore, motor activities can elevate the amount of carbon dioxide in the air, contributing to air pollution, greenhouse effects, and health damages such as destroying the human respiratory. The measure forward is that authorities should encourage people to use friendly environmental vehicles by decreasing taxes on non-pollution cars and offering special incentives. Besides, the government should raise awareness among citizens about planting more trees to reduce current pollution.

To sum up, the growing usage of cars comes with several problems like traffic issues and increasing pollution. I believe that issues associated with car overuse will be well-improved by implementing the suggested solutions as soon as possible.