The obesity rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many developed countries.Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions.

Include relevant examples from your own experience.

Burgeoning number of obese children has become a matter of serious concern in first world countries.This essay will discuss the reasons for increasing obesity among children along with some possible solutions to alleviate this problem.

To begin with,the prime reason for obesity is the consumption of junk food items in school canteens.This could be due to busy schedule of working parents who do not have time to cook meals and to supervise the eating habits of their children.Moreover, children often prefer to indulge in indoor activities instead of performing physical exercises.A survey conducted by Oxford University on children between age group 13-19 revealed that most teenagers prefer to play video games rather than playing outside in the park.

This issue can be reign-in by placing a ban on junk food stalls in educational institutes or introduction of healthy food items in place of fast food.Furthermore, children should be supervised by guardians for the healthy eating habits.They should also inculcate with the motivation for participating in physical activities.Schools should make it mandatory for all students to actively participate in extra curricular activities.

Summing up,with less availability of junk food and more involvement in routine exercises,the problem of obesity can be curbed in youngsters which eventually leads to the formation of a healthy society