The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life.

It is sometimes argued that traditional lifestyles and behaviours which are favoured by the old generation have nothing to do with the training of youngsters in a way that may require living in a fast-paced world. I completely agree with this statement.

In my opinion, traditions that had been settled by our ancestors are absurd to get considered in this revolutionised world. To take a living style of our predecessors as an example, teenagers in past centuries were bound to remain in nucleus families. However, younger generations are more likely to live independently nowadays which helps them to develop a variety of attributes in their personalities ranging from a higher level of confidence and a sense of responsibility to deal with the real world. These hands-on experiences help them to be better trained and prepared for the challenges in the real world. If these offspring were forced to follow the conventional ideology, they would have missed these much-needed traits which are crucial in becoming a successful member of an egalitarian society.

It is also argued that conventional values can restrict teenagers from thinking globally. So, it will make them the narrow-minded adults in terms of accepting different people from different cultures and backgrounds. For instance, our forefathers were highly reluctant to do shared business with traders of different ethnic groups of people in their time period. This ended up in limited trades. Therefore, I would argue that teenagers should be given the broader view of this universe with immense awareness of global issues, different languages as well as conflict resolution. It will allow them to broaden their horizons in regard to the understanding of this increasingly interconnected world. As a result, a prestigious place in the job market and a prosperous future will be assured for them.

In conclusion, I believe that traditional ethics should be ignored as it cannot assist in making our younger generation the productive members of a competitive society.