One way to solve the problem of congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on or under the ground What are the advantages and disadvantages of using this solution to solve congestion

Traffic congestion is a serious problem facing a lot of countries. One suggestion to solve it is to build sky trains rather than undergrounds or conventional trains. While this solution has some advantages as it can be the most space efficient means of transportation, it has also some disadvantages associated.

Firstly, Sky trains are very space efficient. When cities are packed with pedestrians and cars, what people need is a means of transportation that does use the street, a means of transportation that helps them escape this congestion, and this can be attained through a sky train. A country that utilized this solution is Lebanon. If it had not been for the sky transportation in Lebanon, I believe it would have never been as clear and uncongested as it is right now.

On the other hand, overhead trains are one of the most expensive means of transportation. To build and operate a sky train, the country needs to pay enormous amounts of money. This money can be allocated for some wiser ways to solve traffic problems like building new streets or renovating the existing transportation network. In addition to this, there is a safety concern regarding overhead rail systems. It is very common among people to be afraid of sky trains or having nausea when they use them.

Henceforth, it can be confidently conveyed that Although sky trains are a smart solution to solve the problem of congestion in cities, they have also some drawbacks to consider like their cost and some safety concerns.