In the opinion of some people, internet has narrowed the gap among people in the world by increasing social interaction.

To what extent do you agree/disagree with this view?

In this modern world, technology is advancing day by day. Internet is also one such invention of technology which has become the most powerful tool in the world today as it is drawing the people closer. With the help of the internet, the way people used to socialise with each other has changed and improved to a much greater extent.

To begin with, internet has brought various benefits to the people letting them to socialise more. It has provided excellent social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter and others which have just revolutionised the way people used to communicate in the earlier times. Moreover, sending messages using internet has become easier, convenient and economical. Otherwise, people had to wait a lot for sending or receiving messages. For example, people nowadays can send instant messages on Facebook in just no time.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of using the internet and its effect on social interaction. One of the drawbacks is that people do not interact face to face. Hence, social interaction has been limited to online communication. In addition to this, people have become addicted to the internet to this much extent that they suffer from health related problems such as poor eye-sight, back ache and others. For instance, it has been found that people often use internet devices, being as comfortable as possible, lying on the bed which affects their body posture causing back ache.

Conclusively, it can be said that though internet has benefitted the mankind in several aspects by reducing the distance among people but it has also led to the birth of new problems related to health and others.