In order to reduce crime, some argue that attacking its cause like poverty is the best solution, while others believe that putting more people in prison and having more policemen are more convenient way in tackling crime. Discuss both sides and give your opinions.

Criminal activities are disgrace for a civilized society. To curb crime rate, a group of individuals support the idea that we must eradicate its root cause such as poverty, whereas others think that we must put more convicts behind the bars and recruiting more police force are more apt solutions to deal with unlawful activities. In any opinion, it is like two sides of a same coin which can be dealt by uplifting poor people by providing education and increasing number of cops in order to put defaulters in jail.

To begin with, illiteracy is the biggest hurdle that pushes unprivileged section of the society towards unlawful activities. We must collectively work towards its root cause which eventually leads them to unemployment. By imparting knowledge we will be enabling them to understand things in black and white and save them from criminal minded people who lure individuals from lower strata on the pretext of brighter future. Recently, a NGO in Delhi has started an initiative to educate slum dwellers so that they can learn new skillset and lead a dignified life.

On the flip side, government must ensure that law is being followed diligently for which they need to increase police workforce. According to the stats shared by a leading journal, Delhi has 5 cops for every thousand citizens which is very less if compared with other developing nations. If we deploy more boots on ground then they can cover every nook and corner of the nation and make it a safer place to live-in. Additionally, increase in law enforcement personnel will not only help in putting an end to criminal activities, but also they can lend a helping hand in solving pending cases. Thereby, putting culprits behind the bars and setting a stern example among criminal community.

To conclude, we must nip the evil in the bud by providing educational and vocational knowledge to poor people and simultaneously, station more cops on street and put evaders in jail.