In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use their money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such solutions?

Many decisions can be taken by governments to improve public transportation, to solve traffic problems. One of these solutions taxing private car owners, but for such solution there are advantages and disadvantages.

On one hand, many advantages will impact positively on society and our daily life. First, tax private car owners will lead to decrease in number of vehicles especially among cities. Citizens won't stuck in their cars due to traffic jams, they will be encouraged to start using public transportation for moving such as trams, buses and trains. However, air and noise pollution will decrease and people will have a green and healthier environment. For example, in 2014 at Footscray train station in Melbourne, because of the taxes that the government imposed on private cars, a renovation was done to accept big number of passengers, where services and facilities are provided for passengers to feel comfortable.

On the other hand, obliging people to pay high taxes on their private cars also have disadvantages. Many sectors will close and number of unemployment will increase. The income of government from petrol taxes will decrease, which force the government to fire their staff and pay their pensions. Moreover, cars manufacturers will shut down their businesses and sales ratio will be affected and lead to losses. However, government will collapse in the rate of tariff due to decline in number of cars and spare parts import. For example, at the end of 2014 Ford cars manufacturers in Geelong Australia, decided to stop producing cars due to the high taxes that the government imposed on vehicles and the number of sales decreased heavily.

As a conclusion, many advantages and disadvantages will impact on people and government, for such solutions. In my opinion, I believe that the right resolution is improving public transportation and encourage people to use these alternatives, to have healthier and un-stressful life.