organized tours are choosing more and more to go to remote places and communities. Do you think this is a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

Nowadays, humans incline more towards exploring distant and isolated places. This trend encourages tourism industry to organize tours to remote places and communities. Although employment opportunities increase for local people, undoubtedly pollution and anti-social behaviour of tourists towards local communities have more disastrous effects on environment and society.

To begin with, Organized tours to alien places bring in more job opportunities for native people. To meet the demands of tourists, restaurants and hotels increase their services, thereby jobs for waiters, cleaners and cooks increase. Moreover, more people are employed by hotels to show foreigners around areas of interests. For instance, according to a survey conducted by Times of India, 80% of Keralites are self-employed in Kerala providing guides and taxi facilities to tourists. Therefore, tourism in remote places brings in more jobs for local people.

However, there are numerous ill effects of tours organized in remote areas. Firstly, tourists show disrespect towards local cultures and traditions. They disapprove following local dress codes and do not follow rules when visiting religious places, like wearing inappropriate dresses when visiting religious temples. Secondly, the environment gets degraded when more and more tours are organized in isolated areas. Exhaust gas emissions from tourist cars and buses increase air pollution. Furthermore, plastic bags and waste disposed of by travellers on roads and green areas elevate the land pollution. For example, a report published by Hindustan Times depicts that pollution level in Shimla has risen from 2% to 15% with the increase in tourism from 2010 to 2017. Thus, tours to remote places degrade the environment and hurt religious sentiments of local people.

To recapitulate, although tourism brings in more employment for native people in the remote area, numerous demerits towards local culture have more ill effects than positive.