In the past, when students did a university degree they tended to study in their own country.Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad.

Do the advantages of this development outgweighs the disadvantages ?

There are many benefits of attending universities in overseas instead of in home country, although if we critically examine this development, we may unfold a few side problems.

Many people are concerned that foreign education's expenses, whether these be tution, accommodation or flight fees, usually amount to a huge cost for one international student -- and that about five local university students could benefit from such finance. Also worthy of concern is the safety of international students as abroad countries may slide into chaos. These issues eventually put studying abroad at a disadvantage.

However, studying in overseas universities has some major advantages that would benefit students and societies in general, so much that the minor effects of huge expenses and security would be almost unnoticed. For one, international students stand a good chance of developing problem-solving skills as they tend to become independent when they are in foreign lands. The experience of learning how to interact with people from different races and cultures, managing situations and simply knowing when to choose between right and wrong oftentimes without parental guidance usually is gained during International schooling. For another, advanced equipment, modern technology and technical teaching methods, which are proven to help students' comprehensive understanding of information as well as its practical application, are not uncommon in foreign schools. If more students are exposed to these, then there may be a better future for both individuals and society. On the social side, the unity, love and cordial relationship among countries may be strengthened since various languages, cultures and customs are being learnt and understood by students from a variety of background. A task that may otherwise be somewhat unachievable should students study in their home countries. Finally, students who study abroad are often opportuned to work in large companies because many of the world's leading organisations usually have major branches in foreign countries and they sometimes recruit graduates of foreign institutions.

It would then seem that students are making informed decisions of travelling to foreign lands in order to acquire their University degrees.