People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example.

Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

It is rightly said that a strong society gives the way to a strong nation. It is quite common that nowadays many offsprings are highly addicted to substance abuse both legally and illegally. According to experts, there is no one to blame other than parental figures and other grown-ups in society. I believe that peer pressure and parental influences are the promoters for young blood to consume drugs which results in an imbalance in health conditions and finance.

One of the major influencing factors of the addiction towards the drug substances is the pressure from the friends. In other words, at the beginning of the teenage period, the generation gives more value to the tongue of peers rather than parents and relatives. An organization of scientists and medical experts reveals that from a recent survey almost three-quarters of drug addiction is the direct result of compulsion or motivation from similarly aged citizens. Above that the added that twenty per cent of clients who visited different hospitals in the country expressed that they started using drugs as either father or mother was a serious drug addict.

As a consequence of the regular consumption of substances, many of the people face major health issues. To put it in another way, the contents of each drug endanger the internal organs and badly influence the thought patterns of individuals. The wounds which are the aftermath of drugs may transform to non-curable illness like cancer etcetera as many studies show diseases like cancer are the direct result of inhalation of chemical substances come from drugs, pre-processed food and alcoholic products.

Moreover, drug addiction is disadvantaged in economic perspective as children from middle class or economically disturbed families are promoted to use the product. Once they start consuming the drugs, the addictive nature of the substance promote them to steal money from home, and even they engage in other criminal offences contributing enough earnings to meet their needs. A senior psychologist from the Indian Medical Association (IMA-Delhi) recently announced that a higher proportion of (75 – 80%) juvenile criminals started committing crimes as an aftermath of drug abuse.

To conclude, many of the young generations are addicted to substance abuse both legally and illegally. I do not stand completely with the statement as the similarly aged group has a major role in promoting younger to consume drugs than parents and other citizens which can end up in disturbed medical and financial conditions.