People are surrounded by advertising which has increasing effect on our lives Do you think the positive effects of this outweigh the negative effects

Business nowadays are extensively using advertisements to promote their products. Although there are a lot of positives in this strategy yet there is an argument these can have negative affects too. In my opinion there are both pros and cons involved but the positives outweigh the negatives.

Advertising is a great medium of raising awareness among individuals about a certain business or a product. Business use it nowadays to establish a connect with various age groups depending on what they want to sell. For example, signing a youth icon to endorse for latest fashion brands can be a great way of targeting the teenage population and thus helping in generating more revenues. Advertising whether in TV, newspapers or digital media is also a great source of employment as preparing an advertisement would involve a team of content writers, editors, directors etc.

However, there are certain adverse aspects related to advertising as well. Companies tend to make false claims in promotions to attract customers which can be harmful. For example, some companies claim to cure diseases with their products even if there is no medical justification which proves the same. There are certain products which can be unhealthy for children but are advertised in a way that kids force their parents to buy it for them. For e.g. advertisements for candies, sweeteners etc. often try to connect with kids without explaining the harmful effects of these products.

In conclusion advertising, if used with caution and not conceal information about a product, is a great tool for establishing a connect with customers which can help in generating more employment and revenues.