People in the current generation are not fit and active, and it will cause health problems in the future. What could be the reasons and suggest solutions for this issue

It is said, ‘Health is wealth’.

General observation has that the new age people lead unhealthy and inactive life, if this trend continues without corrective actions there will be major health crisis in the near future. The primary reason for this is the interjection of technology in everyone’s day to day life. With awareness campaigns on benefits of local food and exercise we can make people conscious about their overall health. I will further elaborate on this in the upcoming paragraphs.

With the advancement in science and technology, the everyday life of an individual has become dependent on machines, in other words technology has made, man their slave. In the quest of making life simple and easy, man has somewhere lost his own self. The younger generation mostly has desk job, making them sit in one place for almost 10 to 12 hours everyday, the commute is also mechanical, leaving very less time for any other activity, so to do any physical activity the person has to make an extra effort by pushing himself outdoors for a run or a walk, otherwise need to enroll him/her to any sports and fitness club. Unless an individual does not take the effort, there is no way a person can indulge in any form of physical activity, as rest all our jobs have been overtaken by technology.

Government has a vital role to play to make their people healthy and fit, they should encourage public to use cycles to commute, a separate cycling track throughout the city should be built. Schools should emphasize more on exercise and children made aware of ill effects of being lazy and inactive. Junk food be taxed heavily, local produce and farming be encouraged. Only when the local body supports a cause, it will have larger reach and higher success rate.

Finally, to have a healthier and active future generation, the technology usage is to make life better and not easy. The benefits of everyday balanced diet and regular physical work should be campaigned throughout the year.