Some people think that having a set retirement age( 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation , is unfair. They belive that certain workers deserve to retire and recive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which type of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Everyone dreams of having a peaceful retirement living in the later stage of their life. Many countries follow the ‘fixed-exit-age’ policy for their employees; that is, irrespective of the field/nature of job everyone retires at the age of 65 and avail pension benefits only after that.

Few people think that the above rule should not be generalized for all set of jobs, instead certain occupation holders should have an earlier retiring age and pensioned. I completely approve of this opinion, also think that the people who work for the country and spend most of their life away from family like defense people should benefit the most of this.

In the process of making rules and policies often, the higher authorities ignore the broader picture. For instance, we cannot compare the life of an investment banker with that of an army officer posted in the border security force. Hence, having a same job-exit age for both would be unfair, as the one is working for himself, sitting in a comfortable environment, while the later is far from everything he knows and owns and ensures that there is no threat to his people

I also believe that there is no way that a society can pay back to the soldiers who selflessly work for the country and for the safety of citizen. They usually stay away from families for many years and always have no guarantee of their return back to the loved ones. Thereby, bending rules and providing them earlier retirement with higher pension, to make their lives a little better can be seen as a small way to show gratitude to our real heroes.

Finally, rules are made for the benefit of the society and if tweaking the rules has a larger use and is fair, we should consider it.