People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's generation, it is the fact that people live more than expected earlier, this is due to the medical services available now. Some people think that as the life span of human beings has increased, the age of retirement must also be increased, while others claim that retirement age must not be increased because of many facts. This essay will discuss the reasons why retirement age must not be increased and provides some good examples.

Firstly, A man spends lots of time in their work place during their middle age and will be dreaming to enjoy their old age after retirement. Secondly, At their adult age their body may not support to work and meanwhile the productivity also decreases. For example an older employee may need more leaves when compared to younger ones because of their health problems. Moreover the employer also needs to pay more salaries to them as they are senior employees. For instance, instead of paying one lakh rupees for one senior employee, an employer can appoint two young people by just paying twenty-five thousand each.

Another reason is that increasing the retirement age may result in severe unemployment problem in that country. As there are more talented youth available, older people can be replaced with new youngsters, that too with less salaries. In addition, humans at adult age will not be able to adopt new technologies which are quite important for the success of a company. If a company's employees don't get updated with the latest technology, then that firm may not get new projects and even there is a possibility of loosing existing clients.

To conclude, As there are many reasons why the retention period must not be increased, I strongly disagree with the statement