People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our life generally more comfortable but it is a pity many traditional values have been lost on the way to such materialism.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

People work industrially to earn more and more money so they can avail facilities of life as much as possible. In my opinion, I agree that during this procedure, several traditional ways of living, meeting and celebrating the festivals have abolished.

Indeed everyone wants to spend a luxurious life in which one can enjoy comfort and ease. However, in achieving this life goal, people have ignored plenty of rituals and norms. For instance, nowadays children do not get as much attention of their parents as it was a practice in the past. They do not experience the joy of family gatherings, meal times and company of their parents instead they are habitual of having time with technology which their parents buy for them through their hard-earned money.

These day people have become extremely busy that they are no longer inclined towards meeting their relatives, friends and even parents face to face. They find this difficult so they purchase latest and expensive mobiles for communication. Albeit they consider meeting face to face a wastage of their precious time. Similarly, traditional ways of celebrating social, religious and cultural events have lost their significance because people prefer giving their time to their businesses and doing part-time jobs to augment their income level instead of performing typical lengthy rituals.

In the past, people used to travel long distance on public transport to spend holidays and festivals altogether with their family members, but now their goal is to acquire as much wealth as required to buy luxury car. In the vague of priority shift, people no longer care about living a conventional life rather contemporary.

To conclusion, I think people should not give this much stress only on earning money and modern living rather they should also be attentive towards keeping traditional methods of living alive. As maintaining the balance between money-making and social life is the only sustainable way to a healthy and livable society.