People spend a lot of money on various things as they earn more money nowadays than before. Is it postive or negative development.

In the modern era, people invest huge amounts of capital on numerous things, as masses make a lot of money as compared to the older times. In my opinion, this trend has a negative impact on society which increases consumerism and tension among the people.

To begin with, the huge spending on articles has a detrimental effect on the environment. If there is an increase in production of goods then it will also rise in a dump of wastage which has plastic and heavy metals that would be thrown into the sea. For example, the Indian ocean is the largest dumping ground for consumer goods which affects the ecosystem of the oceans and also contains heavy metals which would be moved to the body of human beings after the consumption of seafood. Moreover, consumerism has also developed mental pressure among children and parents. When adolescents demand these costly products after imitating from their peers, it disturbed the economic budget of the parents. Consequently, the relationship could be affected and sometimes extreme steps are taken by the teenagers in the form of involvement in illegal activities to purchase these products.

Although spending money on these goods has deleterious effects on society, it may inspire an individual to live a qualitative life. For instance, people purchase luxurious things to enjoy better services and functions of a product to live a life peacefully. However, this materialistic world could hamper a family relationships and environment on the toll of personal pleasure.

Overall, I strongly believe that this trend of spending money on goods would affect our mental health, family bonding and pollute our aqua system.