People think that old buildings should be knocked down and given way to the new buildings Do you agree or disagree with this statement how important are old buildings to us

Old buildings are often considered as the identity of an urban area. I believe that while some of them need to be maintained since they are the common heritage of people, others should be demolished as their restoration is costly and they are unsafe to live.

Many old buildings, such as the taj Mahal and Leaning Tower of Pisa, are the combined heritage of the human race.These buildings are central to our identity and our understanding of culture. Taj Mahal is not just any other building. It contains the delicate work of thousands of masons and represents the traditional architecture of India. Moreover, they are a crucial source of revenue for local administrations. The Purana Quila of Jaisalmer in India is a primary tourist attraction for Indians as well as foreigners, and it helps the government earn more than a million dollars annually which it uses to support local infrastructure.

However, there are numerous buildings that have little historical value and, hence, are not fit for restoration. These buildings have a weak structure and strengthening them entails colossal cost. Since they do not have any cultural value, no one visits them and they are not a source of revenue. It is economically prudent to demolish them and build new structures that are safe for the residents. Also, these buildings are a blot on the otherwise flawless urban ambience.For example, old buildings in my city, Chandigarh, are ugly and badly/ poorly maintained as compared to swanky, new buildings. It is better to demolish them to maintain/ preserve the beauty of the city.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that some old structures have historical significance and it makes perfect economic and cultural sense to maintain them irrespective of the cost. Other, however, are just dirty, unsafe structures that must be demolished.