People who go to live in other countries, should follow the customs and tradition of the new country. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

With the emergence of a new world order called globalisation, immigration became a reality and people began relocating to developed nations in search of better opportunities. Whereas many embrace the culture of the host country, others choose to retain their own traditions and values. Though respecting one's root is good, immigrants should learn to adapt to their host nation, lest they want to be isolated. This essay evaluates the issue and believes that the reluctance to accept the culture of the society that a person lives may only result in conflict with the surroundings.

First of all, it is difficult to let go of your culture entirely because a person can not change overnight. At the same time, one should make ample effort to adjust to the new culture, as it can help you avoid becoming an outcast and social misfit. It may only lead to more stress and tension along with being prone to cultural shock. For example, my close friend who migrated to Australia could not come in terms with the Australians’ way of life, ended up being home sick and returned to her motherland, after a week.

Another aspect to consider is that you can not expect the foreign nationals to change their own culture for the newcomers, on top of their willingness to share their resources with you. Moreover, welcoming the positives of the new culture might enrich your own inner core and morale while reinforcing the qualities of one's own culture. For example, most nations practice universal ethics such as humanity, respect for all and equality.

In conclusion, those who migrate to other nations should be prepared to appreciate the culture and learn to adapt to that nation, while holding onto their traditional beliefs and imbibing the positive factors in the host culture. This can help the immigrants to carve out a successful life in the alien nation.