Many people prefer to spend money and not save it. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

Money is an essential factor for fulfilling various needs in life such as food, shelter and clothing. As such, people often find themselves spending money while obtaining material possessions; but unrestrained consumerism may lead to impoverishment, while destroying our nature, because of the overwhelming rubbish it produces. This essay states that over-consumerism tempts people to buy unnecessary products, which in turn empties their pockets, while destroying our environment because of the immense volume of waste it produces as people purchase products frequently.

First of all, many people buy innumerable useless products because of the increased aggressive materialism. Traders take advantage of the routine buying habits of consumers and make use of all platforms available such as advertisements in T.V, radio and internet to sell their goods. Moreover, companies that make devices like smart phones, computers and tablets often introduce latest versions of their gizmos periodically. As such, many spend most of their income on purchasing powerful devices and other fashion goods.

Additionally, banks and financial institutions offer credit services to its customers, which helps them to purchase commodities with loan. Since more options for getting extra finance is at disposal, they indulge in spending more money on non-essential items . This has not only led many to bankruptcy, as they could not repay their debt, but it also have resulted in environmental damage, because of the huge amount of rubbish it has created.

To put it in a nutshell, many choose to spend money rather than save it because it gives purchasing power which has resulted in shopaholism. Widespread consumerism persuades everyone to use their finances to secure redundant goods. This is by no means a positive progress, as it is hazardous to our nature because of the accumulation of junk. Thus, this essay states that money should be used wisely and limitless spending of it may lead to financial insecurity, all the while destroying our nature.