A person’s health is their own responsibility rather than the government’s responsibility.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

There is no doubt that health has always been an essential factor to lead a happy life. While some people argue that keeping a healthy life is an individual responsibility, I believe it is a shared obligation between both people and their governments.

On the one hand, people can exert efforts to protect their physical and psychological conditions. First and foremost, abandoning harmful unhealthy habits, which can impact the human body, would be beneficial and help people live longer. For example, drinking alcohol and smoking had been among the most common causes of death in recent years; thus, it is understandable why people should discard these habits. In addition, adopting an active lifestyle can also support individuals well-being; which is a personal matter. If adults exercise regularly and visit doctors occasionally, they are more likely to stay healthy and protect themselves from chronic diseases, especially diabetes and hypertension.

However, governments ought to take part in elevating people's health. In fact, some major problems that cause serious health issues require governmental action. If countries impose rules and regulations, they would lessen air pollution, especially in Asia and Africa, where environmental pollution has reached alarming levels. It is also worth mentioning that building hospitals and providing suitable healthcare are a government responsibility. This can be observed in developed nations where hospitals are well-established and equipped; therefore, people can be treated easily, and more lives are saved.

In conclusion, I argue that leading a healthy life is an outcome of joined efforts between individuals and their governments.