A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and

material possessions. Old fashioned values such as honour, kindness, and trust no

longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

These days, the amount of wealth and the number of luxurious items have become the two prime factors to judge a person. The older ways-truthfulness, prestige, and integrity are now being ignored. I undoubtedly agree with this notion as people are now more concerned about money and comforts as well as fascinated by luxuries.

To embark upon, everyone has the desire to possess immense fortune and could cross any limits to acquire it. Due to their this wish, they become attracted to people who are earning enormous income and consider all the actions of these rich people acceptable. Mukesh Ambani, for instance, many people in India unconditionally praise him just because he is the richest man in India, even though his company Reliance has been several times caught committing tax evasion. Money sometimes makes people blind to see the immoral activities which these popular people are performing, and therefore, they treat them correct in all ways.

Moreover, people are now allured towards costly and luxurious possessions such as high-speed cars and high-tech mobile phones. In other words, their fascination with expensive items makes them think that the person who owns the same is on the right path. They start to believe they should also perform similar activities to buy these items. This kind of ideology is eradicating strong principles-honesty, fairness and trustworthiness from society. As a result, well-behaved and honored people are now considered as unsuccessful and backward thinking people.

In conclusion, attraction towards high-value products, and want to have a rich and comfortable life is making people blindly believing that people who already own them are right. Hence, honor and morals are no longer measures of someone's success.