Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think it should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

The usage of plastic bags has increased at unprecedented speed on account of its convenience to human daily life. However, this phenomenon leads to some detrimental impacts on both organism and natural environment. Personally, I strongly agree with the statement that prohibiting plastic bags is a requisite to slow this uncontrollable destruction.

First and foremost, there is no doubt that plastic bags have become a risk to marine life. In clarification, there are numerous aquatic animals mistaking plastic shopping bags for their food. As a matter of course, they ingest these dangerous bags; as a result, plastic stuffs cannot be digested and these animals end up dying.

What’s more, plastic bags are unexpectedly considered as a human health hazard. Whenever people buy foodstuffs, they will be given a couple of plastic bags but they do not know that these bags will harm to their health because of toxic substances which made up these things. According to a recent survey, people who are prone to use plastic bags to contain certain foods will have more potentials to suffer from lung cancer, heart diseases, and many related illnesses.

Last but not least, it is attributed that plastic bags have immensely negative impacts on natural environment. In fact, plastic bags are non-biodegradable stuffs that take 2000 years to decompose. Apparently, excessive accumulation of plastic bags in dumpsites will contaminate the environment. Besides, manufacturing plastic bags need a huge amount of oil. Hence, that results in the loss of natural resources.

All in all, in my point of view, I believe that plastic bags should be forbidden to preserve natural habitat and protect human health.