At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large
number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.
Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages
The average age of the population for many nations around the world has been in
decline in recent decades creating a situation where young people have become
the world’s largest demographic, particularly in developing nations. Although
there are decided drawbacks to this phenomenon related to expertise in the
workforce, it is still a positive development because it will lead to booming
economies in the coming years.
The most frequently cited drawback to having a predominately young population
is the lack of skilled workers in many important industries. A great example of this
can be seen in Vietnam, which has one of the youngest populations in the world.
Vietnam currently has very few leaders in important areas like engineering and
technology. When it came time for Ho Chi Minh city to build a subway system,
there were not enough skilled engineers to accomplish the feat. They had to hire
a huge number of specialists from Japan and Thailand to ensure the quality of the
project. The potential engineers for this project are still in school in Vietnam or
studying abroad and it may be another decade before they are ready to design
and execute large, complex infrastructure. It is not uncommon for developing
countries with young populations to require outside assistance for national
projects to the detriment of their own workers.
Despite this drawback, the advantage of a young population is that it brings many
future benefits to a country and is a key indicator of future economic prosperity.
Japan famously has one of the oldest populations in the world and this has led
them into a deep economic recession over the last 20 years as it becomes
increasingly apparent that the nation will have to assume responsibilities related
to healthcare and a dwindling workforce. Contrast this with the so-called ‘Tiger
Economies’ of Southeast Asia that include Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia and
Singapore. These countries have some of the youngest populations in the world,
which, coupled with a growing middle class and better education, means that
they will enjoy upward economic growth for decades to come. The middle class
will expand because well-educated graduates will be able to get good jobs and
this middle class will become a consumer class that feeds the economy. Overall,
this is why having a young population is desirable for any nation.
In conclusion, I fully believe that a younger population indicates a country is going
to be successful in the future. The key element for all young populations is
education and governments should focus on this in order to fully exploit the
benefits of their demographic.