ques: Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is considered by some that to abate the problems like traffic congestion and pollution , government ought to rise the fuel price.However, in my opinion i think this will bring unnecessary inflation and it will not have any affect on rich people.Thus ,I disagree with this notion.

Firstly, by increasing the price of petrol it would also elevate the price of daily used products. As we know, everything we use in our daily life like groceries,clothes ,utensils etc. reach us by the means of transport. Owing to this , rise in fuel price is directly proportion to the price of everyday essentials. Secondly, it is often seen that private vehicles are owned mainly by affluent class people. Price increase will have just a minor affect on them. But , economic burden will increase immensely on poor people who had little role in these above mentioned problems.

There are many other ways by which government can curb these issues. One solution is, government should improve public transport in terms of both quality and frequency. Having improved public transport will deter citizens to use private vehicles.For example , in France government is providing public transport facilities very efficiently and that too at low fares. This encourage french people to use public transport like buses and trains.Another method is , by implementing more taxes or fines on private vehicles like in terms of road tax , toll tax etc.

In conclusion , I am strongly against increasing the price of gas as it will cause financial burden on people rather than rectifying the problems. However , government can improve public transport condition and can increase taxes in private vehicles in order to solve these worries.